We’re Home!

A thought from the former burner, Meg Rutigliano:

I like to think of burning man, as a family reunion.

Meg isn’t the only burner who feels this way, it is a thought shared by most burning man attendees and by most festival goers in general. Sure a festival offers opportunities to listen to great music and view amazing art displays, but most will agree that the best part about attending music festivals and other festivals similar to burning man, are the people.

When I arrive at a festival, or whatever particular event I am attending at the moment, I have made a habit saying “We’re home,” and this is in large part due to the people. Over the course of my festival attending ‘career’ I have met some of the most amazing people.

The thing about festivals, is that people are very open minded, loving and genuine, therefore it only takes one moment or one connection and you will have likely made a life long friend. There have been times when I have met somebody just in passing, and we wind up spending several hours in each others company. By the end of the day, I have made a really great friend. It is a beautiful and very rare thing.

As one attends more festivals you begin to recognize the same people, and meet up with friends you’ve met at past events. What this creates is a sense of comfort and home. I am generally one in a crowd of thousands, yet I feel just as safe and at ease as I would in a crowd with only my close friends. I can honestly say that in all my life I have never had any other outlet in which I could completely be myself and feel so comfortable and secure and this is because over time frequent festi-goers become a family of sorts or as Meg puts it:

A very colorful and vibrant family.

Which in all reality is the best kind of family.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. allieoconnor
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 04:27:04

    I really enjoyed reading this blog post. You really shared a lot of personal beliefs and I can definitely relate to you. I have made so many friends in the same ways. Even if just meeting them for a day and never talking to this person again can even have such a significant meaning in life. I enjoyed this blog post a lot!!

    Reply

Leave a comment